Introducing the House Deans of Massey High School

All students are placed into one of four houses.  Each house has a teaching dean and a non-teaching dean


House Colour: 



Mrs Ashford 

Mr Kalolo

About Mrs Ashford:

I teach Chemistry and Science

Both of my children attended Massey High School, my daughter is now also a Science/Chemistry teacher.

I have always lived in West Auckland and love it when ex students stop me in the street to say hello and tell me what they have been up to.

Passions: my pets, grandchildren, running - I am really enjoying the Harcourts 10km race series.

Focus for 2022: making education important and relevant again.

About Mr Kalolo:

My background is in Youth Work. I use to work closely with “At Risk” youth and their families and try to add value into their lives and input some life-skills through their journey as they navigate “LIFE.”

One of the things I hope to achieve in my role, is to inspire our students to “Dream and Dream BIG.” 

“A genius is not born, but is educated and trained.” – Laszlo Polgar

One thing I have learnt through my journey in life and something I add to my conversations with students is: “If it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you.”


House Colour: 



Miss Fusitu'a

Mr Farrington

About Miss Fusitu'a: 

Malo e lelei, my name is Grace Fusitu'a and I am a Dean at Massey High School.

I am of Tongan descent and have a Bachelor of Sport and Recreation.  I've been involved in youth work for over 10 years and taught and managed a High School in Tonga for 4 years.

I am passionate about helping young people become a better version of themselves and believe it is my duty to draw out greatness inherent in each student and equip them for life through education.

As educators, our ability to have cultural awareness in a room of young people improves measures of learning.  When young people feel accepted and understood they are receptive to learning.

Sports have been a big part of my life and my family's and though I don't participate competitively anymore I enjoy going to Crossfit.  I value being in a good state of mind.

About Mr Farrington:

I graduated from Otago University with a BSc and completed my teacher training at Dunedin College of Education.  I taught in Dunedin for 5 years before moving to Massey High School in 1987.

I left Massey for 3 years to be a HOD Science before returning as a Dean in 2002.

My subjects are Biology and Science.

A variety of life experiences ranging from military service, farm and manual work, along with overseas travel has given me a broad outlook on life.  Sport is important to me even though I no longer actively participate.

I have developed an interest in Restorative Practice and based my pastoral philosophy with this in mind.  I believe that students do best when they feel valued and have a stake in their futures.

"People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel." Maya Angelou


House Colour: 



Mrs Death

Mr Pisi

About Mrs Death:

I am a South Aucklander, I grew up in Papakura.  When I was at school I had a passion for sport and coaching so when I left school I decided to complete a Bachelor of Education degree and my major was Physical Education and Health.  I have taught in a number of schools since I started teaching, I have even taught in a summer camp in the USA which was an amazing experience, but the best school to teach at has been Massey High School.

 I started teaching at Massey High School in 2000 as Assistant Head of PE and then took on the role of Head of Department of PE in 2001.  I loved this role and I had a great team to work with.

Mid 2005 I had a break from Massey to have my family and returned to Massey High again in 2012 and by 2014 I had come back full time teaching Physical Education and Health and also joined the Dean team.

Being a Dean is a very fulfilling job because we get to help students navigate their time at high school and are here as solution finders when they need some extra support - it's like being Mum at school.

One of the best parts of my job is seeing the students arrive as young year 9s and leave 5 years later as mature young adults who will be great citizens of our community and knowing you have played a small part in getting them there.

About Mr Pisi:

My name is George Pisi I am a proud Samoan brought up in West Auckland.   I am an ex Massey High School student.

Before I became a Dean at Massey High School I was a professional rugby player who was fortunate enough to represent my country, travel the world and experience different countries and cultures.

My wife is a Primary School teacher at Rosebank and I have two beautiful kids.

I graduated last year with a Bachelors in Applied Management majoring in Sports Management at Otago Polytechnic.

My passion was always to work with the youth so being a Dean I am able to build good relationships with the students and walk with them through the trials and tribulations of high school.

As a Dean I feel my role is to continue to teach  life values and morals to our students, that parents, grandparents have already instilled into their children.  The school values manaakitanga (love-respect) for teachers and fellow students, Whanaungatanga (relationships and family) making lifetime friends also representing your family with pride and Rangatiratanga (Sovereignty and leadership) being leaders in our communities and families.

A quote from Nelson Mandela - "What counts in life is not the mere fact that we have lived.  It is what difference we have made to the lives of others that will determine the significance of the life we lead."


House Colour: 



Mrs Moore

Mr Toko

About Mrs Moore:

Hi, my name is Raewyn Moore and I am a Turama House Dean and the Gateway Coordinator here at Massey High School.

I grew up in Te Atatu and then went to Otago University prior to training as a secondary school teacher.  I began my teaching career at Massey High School then worked in other schools before returning to Massey High School 20 years later, once our two sons were settled at primary school.

I have held a variety of roles at the school including Teacher, Careers Advisor, Akina Leader prior to the current roles I hold.

Massey High is a great place to work and I have the privilege to inspire young people to become the best that they can be by using their unique talents and strengths in a way that makes the world a better place.

About Mr Toko:

When I was 21 I started my journey as an educator, with a focus on re-engaging students in New Zealand's education system through Alternative Education.  Since then, I have identified some of the facets in education that subsequently contribute towards academic outcomes.  

What I hope to achieve in my role, is to help relieve, reduce or remove some of the probable causes that limit students from accessing or disengaging from education.

- Cook Island (Aitutaki and Mangaia)

- BA Major in Education

"If education is the key, then school is the lock" - Scott McLeod